Who can vote in the Territory Sounds Countdown for their favourite NT song of 2022? 

Countdown voting is open to all residents living in Australia.

How do I vote? 

Head over to our voting website. Log in and create a shortlist of your favourite NT songs of 2023. Then comes the tough part of whittling it down to your Top 5. 

How many voting entries can I submit?

You can only vote once for a maximum of 5 songs and you cannot vote for the same song more than once.

If an individual is found to have voted more than once, all of their entries will be deemed ineligible.

What counts as an NT song?

Entry into the Territory Sounds Countdown is limited to composers of music, performers, writers of lyrics, or Songwriters who:

  1. have (and can warrant or provide suitable evidence of having) continuously resided in the Northern Territory for a minimum of three consecutive years.
  2. Were born in the NT and maintain an ongoing connection to the Northern Territory and/or have cultural ties to the Northern Territory. 
When does the song have to have been released?

This year we are counting down the Top 10 songs of 2023.

In order to be eligible, the song has to have been released between 1 January 2023 and 31 December 2023.

Songs rereleased in 2023 are eligible.

I am an artist, how many songs can I submit?

Each artist can submit a maximum of THREE songs for inclusion on the final voting list.

Songs can be submitted via this online form.

When does voting open?

To be announced, stay tuned.

When does voting close? 

To be announced, stay tuned.

If an NT song is not on the list, how do we vote for it?

You can add a song to your shortlist manually, just make sure it meets the eligibility criteria outlined above and that you add it to our list by TBA.

When will the Top 10 NT Songs of 2023 be announced? 

The Territory Sounds Countdown broadcast time is yet to be announced, stay tuned.

How do I listen to the Countdown? 

You can listen live across the Territory as we countdown the Top 40 songs on ABC Radio Darwin and ABC Radio Alice
Springs.  The best option if you’re in Darwin is listen on 105.7fm or 783am in Alice Springs, find other radio frequencies here.

You can also Tune in by streaming online or using the free ABC Listen app.However, if you use a web stream broadcast it will be interrupted between 6.00pm - 6.30pm for a news segment.

Alternatively, you can listen live via one of our community radio partners.

GoveFM - 8CCC - TEABBA - PAW Radio - Katherine Community Radio

I can’t listen to the Territory Sounds Countdown live, will I be able to find a list of the songs?

Absolutely! A list will be available on territorysounds.com by 9am the very next day.

Why should I vote for my favourite NT songs?

Not only will your votes make your favourite NT artists’ day should they land on the Countdown, but eligible voters will also have the chance to take home a MAJOR PRIZE PACK!

Who is eligible to win the Major Prize Pack?

Anyone living in the Northern Territory who has submitted a vote/s for at least one eligible NT song AND has provided MusicNT with their contact details (valid email address or Australian phone number and post code/State). Terms and Conditions for the Territory Sounds Countdown voter prizes can be found here T&Cs.

How are the winners decided? 

All eligible voters will be entered into the prize draw, with the winner’s name selected at random through an online generator.

When will the winners be announced?

The date is yet to be announced, stay tuned.

Have any other questions? Reach out to us at